Current Position:  Home   >   About   >   Support unit
  Support unit

Huazhong Normal University is a key normal university directly under the Ministry of Education of the People's Republic of China. Located in Wuhan, a major hub of transportation, it has a campus of over 1,320,000 square meters with a construction area of more than 600,000 square meters on Guizishan, a hill bordering the East Lake and the South Lake. It has brilliant flowers and green woods all year round. With a serene environment, especially the fragrance of osmanthus flowers all over, the campus is an ideal place for teaching and studying. A hundred years of vicissitudes and striving fostered this celebrated university.

The predecessor of HZU is the combination of Huazhong University, Zhonghua University and the Pedagogical College of Zhongyuan University, with Huazhong University as the main part. Huazhong University was the largest and most influential mission university in South Central China, it developed from Wenhua Academy (the first college of mission school) that was founded in 1903. In 1951, the public Huazhong University came into being after the Pedagogical College of Zhongyuan University merged with Huazhong University. Then, it was reorganized into Huazhong Higher Normal School in 1952 and later renamed Huazhong Teachers College in 1953. In 1985, the university was formally entitled Huazhong University and Deng Xiaoping, one of the founders of Zhongyuan University, inscribed the new name of the university. In1993, President Jiang Zemin wrote an inscription for the university "Developing normal education, improving the nation's quality".

The university attaches great importance to the development of disciplines. After adjusting and expanding some of the disciplines, HZU has formed a complete and optimized disciplinary system consisting literature, history, philosophy, natural science, engineering, education, economics, law, agriculture and management. Now, it comprises 18 schools, 9 department and 82 research institutes(centers) and offers 53 doctoral programs and 94 master's degree programs. The university also has 5 first-grade doctor's degree disciplines, 3 national key disciplines, 9 provincial and ministerial level key disciplines, 5 post-doctoral programs. Moreover, it has established 2 national bases for personnel training & scientific research, and 3 national key bases for the research of humanities and social sciences. Our university has set up its Continual Education College, Higher Vocational Education College, Network Education College and International Cultural Exchange College. Entrusted by the Ministry of Education, it also established a Teachers Training Center for Teachers Universities and Colleges in South Central China and a Training Center for Education Administrators from the same region.

HZU boasts an array of qualified teachers as well as scholars full of vigor and vitality. Among a total of over 700 professors and associate professors, there are 3 experts with national achievements and 22 with provincial achievements. Apart from that, 8 are selected by the Ministry of Education for "Cross-Century Talents Project" and 1 for "Talent Project". HZU also has many of honorary professors and adjunct professors, such as famous writer Wang Meng, sociologist Zheng Hangsheng, historian Zhang Zhengming, physicist Meng Dazhong, the academician of Chinese Academy Yuan Longping, the chief scientist in the field of Nanometer 973 project Zhang Lide, and the academician of Chinese Academy of Science Ding Xiaqi.

HZU has made noticeable achievements in scientific research. Since the 7th Five-Year Plan was carried out, our teaching staff have been entrusted with a great many important scientific research projects such as national high-tech project 863,national "Torch Program"and some international cooperation projects. During the period of the 8th Five-Year Plan, our faculty members were involved in 744 scientific research projects, and more than 130of them won different awards at the provincial/ministry level or above.

Department established

Education, Psychology, Law School, Institute of Political Science, Arts, History and Culture, Economics, Foreign Languages, Mathematics and Statistics, College of Physics Science and Technology, Chemistry, Life Science, Urban and Environmental Science, Social Sciences, Management, School of Continuing Education, Vocational and Technical College, Network Education, Music, Fine Arts, Physical Education, International Cultural Exchange, and other Department of the Ministry, research centers and the like.

Address: Science Hall, Huazhong Normal University, 152 Luoyu Road, Wuhan, Hubei, P. R. China, postcode: 430079
(National Engineering Research Center for E-Learning)
Tel: 027-67867024 Fax: 027-67862995 Email:

visitor volume